top of page

About Us


The National Excellence in Teaching Awards is a community-centred awards program, started by the NEiTA Foundation in 1994 supported by Futurity, to honour exemplary teaching in Australia and New Zealand.

Over the last 30 years, NEiTA has received more than 42,000 nominations for excellent and inspirational teachers from early childhood and school communities throughout Australia and New Zealand.

So far 1,120 teachers have received awards, and the NEiTA Foundation has awarded more than $1,300,000 in professional development grants, prizes and endowments.


NEiTA objectives

  • Recognise teachers and leaders who represent excellence within their teaching profession through their contribution to the advancement of education at local, regional or national levels.

  • Raise community confidence in the teaching profession.

  • Encourage and support increased professional development of teachers.

  • Provide grants and award prizes to teachers and leaders who have demonstrated a particularly high level of dedication and professional expertise and excellence.

  • Encourage the enjoyment of learning.


bottom of page