NEiTA Awards Nomination and Selection Process

For 25 years the NEiTA Foundation, supported by Futurity, have been acknowledging exceptional teachers in early learning centres, primary and secondary schools, and special schools across Australia and New Zealand.

Each year, six national recipients from New Zealand and 12 recipients from Australia are selected to receive the NEiTA Awards.

The awards are divided into three categories:

  • Early childhood

  • Primary school

  • Secondary school.



Special awards

Each year the judging committee select four teachers from among the NEiTA recipients to receive special awards in recognition of exceptional teaching, best practices and contribution in the following areas:

The ASG NEiTA Early Careers Teaching Award

This award recognises the efforts taken by an early careers teacher who has been teaching continuously for a period of between two and four years to incorporate differentiated strategies to meet the specific learning needs of students.

ASG NEiTA Founders’ Award for Leadership

This award recognises a teacher’s philosophical contribution as a leader, the teacher’s understanding of ‘leadership’, and how he/she leads others to success.

ASG NEiTA Innovation Award

This award recognises a teacher who has introduced new methods or ideas to create positive change in the school/centre’s programs, and/or in students’ thinking and learning processes.

The Terry O'Connell Regional and Remote Teacher's Award

This award was created in memory of former NEiTA Foundation Chairman and ASG Director Terry O'Connell was a passionate advocate for teachers in remote and regional areas who work in difficult and challenging parts of Australia.

NEiTA Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations for the 2020 NEiTA Awards will open soon.



Meet our 2019 NEiTA Award Recipients

2019 NEiTA New Zealand Recipients

2019 NEiTA Australia Recipients


NEiTA AU - 1800 624 487

NEiTA - 09 308 0576



Website Terms of Use   |   Copyright © 2020 Futurity Investment Group Ltd ACN 087648879 — All Rights Reserved