Awards 2021

It’s time to shine a light on our unsung heroes.


We all know someone who just gets on with their work, day-in day-out, dedicating themselves to their students, and sometimes even creating a better way to educate.


Well, it’s time to reward them for their efforts. To say thanks for everything.

And tell them how exceptional they are.


Nominations for the National Excellence in Teaching Awards are now closed. NEiTA finalists will be notified in mid-September.   

What happens if your unsung hero wins..?

Award winners receive a professional development grant of $5,000, or $10,000 to further their career and students even more. They’ll also be invited to our Awards Ceremony where they’ll be celebrated by an audience of their peers.


And most importantly, they’ll know they’re appreciated, noticed, and that we’re all truly thankful for what they do.

NEiTA Awards 2021

Apple Awards
These acknowledge outstanding teachers who’ve gone above & beyond for their students. 12 primary and secondary school teachers are selected in Australia, and four in New Zealand. There is a $5000 professional development grant for all winners.

Seed Awards
Recognising the efforts of preschool teachers, and early childhood educators, who lay the foundations for lifelong practice and enjoyment of learning. Two are chosen from Australia, and two from New Zealand, with a $5000 professional development grant given to both.

This year a Seed ‘Teams’ Award is also up for grabs, with a shared professional development grant of $10,000 going to the winning team.

Leadership Awards
For principals and school heads, in recognition of outstanding stewardship of student education and welfare, and exemplary teacher and school community leadership. A $10,000 grant to be presented to at least two recipients in both Australia, and New Zealand.

Powering Potential Awards 

Created in a partnership between NEiTA Foundation and The Smith Family to celebrate and reward remarkable teachers who are working to help children experiencing disadvantage achieve their potential.  


These awards will be presented to two educators – one primary and one secondary – drawn from schools supported by The Smith Family in Australia. Each teacher will receive a $10,000 grant from the NEiTA Foundation.  


Additional awards

Recipients are also eligible for extra professional recognition.

The Terry O’Connell Regional and Remote Teachers’ Award

In memory of our former NEiTA Foundation Chairman, this award is given to those who go the extra mile – literally – for their students in remote and regional areas of Australia.

Early Career Teaching Award

This award recognises the achievement of an early career teacher, who has been teaching from one to five years. It’s given to those who manage to incorporate advanced strategies, to meet the learning needs of their students.

Teacher Mentor Award

Teaching is a collegiate profession, with sharing of practice an ideal part of professional development, and this award is available for each of the Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary categories.

The NEITA Foundation actively encourages the development of formal and informal mentoring programs, and this is part of the process.

Futurity Parents’ Awards
This award goes to the most deserving teacher, or early childhood educator, as nominated by the parents, and members, of Futurity Investment Group. One award is available, in Australia only.

What category of awards are there…?